工作室.

认识团队成员

蒙纳设计团队遍布世界各地。我们为世界上最受欢迎的品牌设计字体,并创作有一些本世纪最具标志性、最为人津津乐道的设计。

Tom Foley.

Tom Foley 是蒙纳的字体创意总监,带领字体设计师团队为蒙纳字库和企业品牌创造字体。文字设计和字母造型流淌在 Tom 的血脉中。他的曾祖父来自一个专精字母雕刻的石匠家庭,而他的叔叔是一位招牌绘写师。

Phil Garnham.

字体创意总监 Phil Garnham 是一位具有多年全球品牌字体设计和工程经验的字体设计师。Phil 和设计团队及全球客户合作,理解品牌形象的创意需求和商业需求,使用字体构建品牌统一性。

小林章.

字体创意总监小林章拥有三十年的工作经验,在日文字体设计方面拥有丰富的背景,并且对书法有着深刻的理解。在东京武藏野美术大学学习了四年之后,小林章在照相制版制造商写研公司接受了他的第一份工作。在那里,他参与了日文字体设计漫长而复杂的流程。

Charles Nix.

Charles Nix 是一位字体创意总监、设计师、字体排印师和教育者。他设计了 Monotype 字体库中许多流行的字体,包括 Walbaum 和 Hope Sans,在第 22 届 Type Directors Club 年度字体设计竞赛中获得了优秀文字设计奖。他还为 Google Noto、Progressive Insurance 和费城艺术博物馆设计了定制字体。

Tom Rickner.

字体创意总监 Tom Rickner 从事字体工作超过三十年。期间,他掌握了字体设计和生产的方方面面——从最早的点阵字体编辑,到为 Adobe 设计最早的几款多母版字体,以及为 Font Bureau 和 Apple 设计 TrueType GX 可变字体。

Sara Soskolne.

作为字体创意总监兼设计师,Sara Soskolne 痴迷阅读,这也是她字体设计作品的灵感来源。Sara 的字体作品不仅服务于阅读,还让阅读体验变得更丰富多彩。Sara 最初是一名平面设计师,对字体的热爱让她进入英国雷丁大学深造字体设计,学成后在 Hoefler&Co. 继续她的字体设计事业。

Emilios Theofanous.

Monotype 高级字体设计师 Emilios Theofanous 出生于塞浦路斯,对高质量的希腊语和多语种文字设计情有独钟。自加入 Monotype 以来,他参与了多个定制和字体库项目。在加入 Monotype 之前,他和国际上的字体公司合作,并参与大型字体项目,比如 Google Fonts 和 Adobe 的 Source Serif 希腊文斜体。

Terrance Weinzierl.

Terrance Weinzierl 是 Monotype Studio 的高级字体设计师,自 2008 年以来一直在为 Monotype 字体库和众多品牌创作和修改字体。除了为微软、谷歌、Barnes & Noble、达美乐和 SAP 的定制项目工作外,他还为电子游戏、专业运动队和汽车制造商设计了字体。

Friedrich Althausen.

Friedrich Althausen 是 Monotype 柏林工作室的字体设计师。在魏玛包豪斯大学学习之后,Friedrich 成为了一名自由设计师,对书籍文字设计和字母绘制有着特殊的兴趣。他为数学和制图学等科目的几本教科书设计过字体,他的 “Vollkorn” 字体被广泛认为是互联网上最早的免费网络字体之一。

Jordan Bell.

Jordan Bell is a letterer and type designer at Monotype. He is fascinated by handwriting and its effect on modern type design as well as early American typefounding. Originally from Texas, Jordan received a BFA from Abilene Christian University and then worked as a graphic designer in Santa Fe, NM before attending the MATD program at University of Reading in the UK to further his knowledge in design history, graphic communication, and typeface design.

 

陶帝.

陶帝是 Monotype 上海工作室的字体设计师。他在大学以工程专业毕业,在中国的一家品牌设计公司作为平面设计师开启了职业生涯。在此期间,他被字体的魔力所吸引,开始自学字体设计。

土井辽太.

土井辽太是蒙纳的字体设计师。在日本读大学期间,作为一名设计专业的学生,土井第一次对字体产生了兴趣。在东京艺术大学获得设计学士学位后,他参加了著名的雷丁大学的字体设计硕士课程,研究日文字体与拉丁字体之间的区别。

Studio.

Meet the team.

The Monotype Studio hails from all corners of the globe. We design typefaces for the world’s most beloved brands, and have created some of this century’s most iconic and talked-about designs.

Tom Foley.

Tom Foley is a Creative Type Director for Monotype, and in his role, is responsible for leading a team of type designers creating fonts for the Monotype Library and corporate brands. Words and letters are in Tom’s blood - his great-grandfather was from a family of stonemasons that specialized in letter carving, and his uncle was a sign painter.

Phil Garnham.

Phil is a Creative Type Director and type designer with many years of experience in the design and engineering of fonts for global brands. Working in collaboration with design studios and global clients, Phil understands the creative and business needs of brands looking to build continuity with type.

Akira Kobayashi.

Creative Type Director Akira Kobayashi has three decades of experience, with an extensive background in Japanese typeface design and a deep understanding of calligraphy. After studying at Musashino Art University in Tokyo for four years, Akira Kobayashi accepted his first job at phototypesetting manufacturer Sha-Ken Co., where he was involved in the lengthy and intricate process of designing Japanese fonts.

Charles Nix.

Charles Nix is a Creative Type Director, designer, typographer and educator. He designed a number of popular typefaces in the Monotype Library, including Walbaum and Hope Sans, which received a Certificate of Typographic Excellence in the 22nd Annual Type Directors Club Typeface Design Competition. He’s also designed custom typefaces for Google Noto, Progressive Insurance and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Tom Rickner.

Tom Rickner is a Creative Type Director with a career in type that spans more than three decades. During that time, he has mastered nearly every aspect of type design and font production, from his earliest days editing bitmaps, to designing some of the very first Multiple Master fonts for Adobe and TrueType GX Variations fonts for the Font Bureau and Apple.

Sara Soskolne.

Sara is a Creative Type Director originally from Toronto, Canada. Originally a graphic designer, Sara’s increasing fascination with type forms eventually drew her to study typeface design at University of Reading in the UK. A reformed bookworm, her deepest inspiration as a designer is the experience of reading and her abiding interest is in creating typefaces which not only serve but also enrich that experience.

Terrance Weinzierl.

As a Creative Type Director in the Monotype Studio, Terrance Weinzierl has been creating and modifying typefaces for the Monotype Library and a wide range of brands since 2008. In addition to working on custom projects for PBS, Microsoft, Google, Barnes & Noble, Domino’s and SAP, he’s designed type for video games, professional sports teams and auto manufacturers.

Friedrich Althausen.

Friedrich Althausen is a type designer based in Monotype’s Berlin office. After his studies at the Bauhaus University in Weimar, Friedrich worked as a freelance designer with a special interest in book typography and letter drawing. He has designed typefaces for several textbooks on subjects such as mathematics and Cartography, and his typeface “Vollkorn” became widely known as one of the first free web fonts on the internet.

Jordan Bell.

Jordan is a type designer and is fascinated by handwriting and its effect on modern type design, as well as the origin, evolution, and localization of the American Gothic. Originally from Waco, Texas, Jordan received a BFA from Abilene Christian University in Abilene and then worked as a graphic designer before attending the MATD program at University of Reading in the UK to further his knowledge in design history, graphic communication, and type design.

Tao Di.

Tao is a Type Designer at the Monotype Studio in Shanghai, China. He graduated from university where he studied engineering, and started his career as a graphic designer at an ad agency in China. During that period, he got attracted to the magic of fonts and started learning type design by himself.

Ryota Doi.

Ryota Doi is a Type Designer for Monotype. Ryota first became interested in type as a design student while at university in Japan. After receiving his BA in design from Tokyo University of the Arts, he enrolled in the MA typeface design program at the prestigious University of Reading, where he studied the differences between Japanese and Latin type.

Colin Ford.

Colin is an advanced font engineer and a graduate of the Type and Media Master’s program at Koninklijke Academie van Beeldende Kunsten (KABK) and the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) where he now occasionally teaches. Colin has always been interested in the interaction type and the web.